Daddy’s girl

We all will have one thing in common. Whether rich or poor, happy or sad, a dream of ‘when I grow up, I’d like to be….’

The fantasy usually takes over, I remember every single girl in my class wanted to be a singer at one point and all the boys wanted to be a footballer! Out of them who succeeded to follow their young dreams? To my knowledge, not many, if any.

I must admit I was part of the ‘I want tube a singer’ group, however realised that this wasn’t going to be very likely. I’ve sung the most out loud, the last 7 months, to my little munchkins. Before that I couldn’t even singing front of my husband, let alone a crowd!

Currently still on maternity leave, my career involves working for a large retailers’ foods department – yum!!!

Coming from an Indian background, the clear favourite career choice of my parents was for me to go into medicine. My father, although successful in his career, always had a regret that he hadn’t become a doctor. He always wanted to help people. I guess I have a similar thought process, but unfortunately not similar academic credentials.

My father is someone I have always looked up to, and always wanted to make proud, after all I am his only child! He has gone through and survived many hardships in his life to create a very comfortable life for me and my mother. I was not spoilt, I was taught the value of money, and savings, but my main lesson from my father, although taught in the most subtle way, was compassion.

I had never really realised this until he had asked me about my reaction to something someone had said, and my response was, ‘I didn’t say anything, because I didn’t want them to feel bad’. He had smiled at what I had just said, and replied, ‘you’re just like me.’ I was young, maybe about 9 or 10, but I still remember what he said to me so vividly.

Fast-forwarding to today, I still think I have a lot to achieve, for me to feel that my father is proud of me. A few more hurdles to jump over, mountains to climb, and ships to sail. He says that he is proud, but I feel I owe it to him to be even more than I am. In the last 30 minutes, it hit me! We’re all different, some will be academically successful, others financially, some will feel content in themselves and not care what everyone else thinks. I always seemed to measure my life success from a financial viewpoint, and although that is still important to me, I want to try harder to show more compassion, be the best mother to my children, and the best person I can be. I want to be unstoppable.

I’m am a materialistic person, I’ve never tried to hide that, but I know my true happiness lies in making others happy, my husband, my children, my parents, my inlaws. So from now I make this promise, I will always focus on the good in everyone, I will do at least 1 good deed a day, I will try to be the best version of me, and I will think before reacting (quickly when I’m driving).

I am who I am, and I will be the best that I can be.

xx

Leave a Reply

